2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship: Schedule, TV channel for hockey tournament

The top women’s hockey teams from around the globe are competing in the 2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship, which has started in Brampton, Ontario. After defeating the United States in the 2022 gold medal match, Canada is the current champion. With the exception of 2019, when Finland stunned Canada in the semifinals and fell to the USA in the final, the two North American rivals have dominated the competition.

With 12 gold medals, Canada leads the field and is going for a three-peat after victories in 2021 and 2022. Marie-Philip Poulin serves as the team’s captain, while prominent players including Sarah Nurse, Brianne Jenner, Renata Fast, and Ann-Renee Desbiens are on the roster. Nine gold medals have been won by the United States at the Women’s World Championship, however none have been taken home since 2019. Hilary Knight, Amanda Kessel, Taylor Hsise, and Lee Stecklein are counted on to lead the group to victory in 2023.

The group stage matches are set to begin on Wednesday, April 5th, signaling the start of the competition.

This phase will continue for a week, concluding on Tuesday, April 11th. Following this, the playoffs are set to begin on Thursday, April 13th, starting with the quarterfinals. The semifinals are scheduled for Saturday, April 15th, and the bronze- and gold-medal matches will be held on Sunday, April 16th.

2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship Watch TV Channel?

In the United States, games involving Team USA will be broadcast on NHL Network, as well as the semifinal and medal games. Cord cutters can stream NHL Network through Fubo.

Canadians can view games involving Team Canada on TSN (English language) or RDS (French language). The network will also broadcast the semifinal and medal games. TSN can be streamed on TSN.ca, through the TSN App, and TSN+.

2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship: Venue

The tournament is taking place in Canada, as Brampton, Ontario hosting the annual international competition. All games will be played at the CAA Centre, the former home of the Brampton Battalion of the OHL and the Brampton Beast of the ECHL. It is the first time Brampton has hosted the tournament.

Which teams will be participating in the tournament?

The top ten women’s national ice hockey teams in the world, as determined by the IIHF, will be participating in the tournament. These teams are Canada, the United States, Finland, Russia, Switzerland, Sweden, Japan, the Czech Republic, Germany, and Denmark.

Where can I find the schedule for the IIHF Women’s World Championship 2023?

A: The schedule for the IIHF Women’s World Championship 2023 can be found on the official website of the IIHF, as well as on the websites of the participating teams.

About Tomas Micke

Check Also

St. Cloud State Huskies vs Minnesota Golden Gophers

St. Cloud State Huskies vs Minnesota Golden Gophers: Preview, Start time and Live Online

St. Cloud State Huskies and Minnesota Golden Gophers are set to take on each other …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *