Bangladesh tour of Sri Lanka 2021: 21-man squad for Sri Lanka Tests

Bangladesh tour of Sri Lanka 2021: 21-man squad for Sri Lanka Tests

Bangladesh, who are on a tour of Sri Lanka, will play their first Test against the hosts on Wednesday. The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced the main squad 19 hours before the match.

Four pacers have been included in the squad. Shortly before the announcement of the team, Mominul Haque said in the pre-match online press conference that Bangladesh will make the XI with emphasis on pace attack. The words of the captain were reflected in the squad. There are three openers. Saif Hasan or Sadman Islam can be Tamim Iqbal's partner.

Shariful Islam also made it to the final Test squad from the preliminary squad for the tour of Sri Lanka. The young left-arm pace bowler has been named in the Bangladesh squad for the first Test. The all-rounder, who returned to the starting line-up with a lot of discussion, is not in the main team.

Bangladesh cricket team will be up against Sri Lanka in the two-match Test series starting from April 21, Wednesday at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Pallekele. Though the Test series forms a part of the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship, it holds no significance as India and New Zealand have already qualified for the finals of the tournament scheduled in England from June 18 to 22.

Bangladesh’s preliminary squad for the Sri Lanka series

Mominul Haque, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Abu Jayed, Taijul Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Mukidal Islam Mugdho, Shuvagata Hom, Shohidul Islam, and Qazi Nurul Hasan Sohan.