European Rowing Championships Live Stream: 2021 international rowing season

European Rowing Championships Live Stream: 2021 international rowing season

The 2021 European Rowing Championships will be held from 9 to 11 April 2021 in Varese, Italy. The Rowing Ireland team for the 2021 European Rowing Championships has been confirmed by Rowing Ireland’s High-Performance Director, Antonio Maurogiovanni.

After a 2020 season that was lean on live rowing events, there are still many precautions in place for 2021 due to the coronavirus pandemic. But the European Championships looks set to be business as usual on the racing front. The championship regatta has attracted 629 athletes from 35 countries.

After the attribution of the 2016 World Rowing Cup, Varese has start a big investment programme to expand the infrastructure at the venue. A new Building over 1000 sq fully accessible  has been constructed from 2017 to 2019, regularly use as Training Centre for rowers; during the international event will be transformed to accommodate the press room, meeting rooms, information and accreditation center as well as several multi-purpose spaces.

European Rowing Championships 2021 Preview

The first regatta held as a European Rowing Championships was held in 1893 and these continued annually until 1913; the 1914 to 1919 events did not occur due to World War I. The annual schedule was next interrupted in 1928 when the Amsterdam Olympics were regarded as a replacement event; the 1920 Antwerp Olympics or the 1924 Paris Olympics had previously not been a reason for skipping the European Championships.

European Rowing Championships 2021 Crew List

Men’s single scull (M1x)

Matthew Haywood (Club: Nottingham RC / Hometown: Nottingham)
Coach: Nicola Benavente

Men’s pair (M2-)

Harry Glenister (Leander Club / Princes Risborough)
Morgan Bolding (Oxford Brookes University /Withiel)
Coach: John Gearing

Men’s double sculls (M2x)

John Collins (Leander Club / Twickenham)
Graeme Thomas (Agecroft RC / Preston)
Coach: Dan Moore

Men’s four (M4-)

Oliver Cook (Univ. of London BC / Windsor)
Matthew Rossiter (Leander Club/ Newbury)
Rory Gibbs (Oxford Brookes University / Marlow)
Sholto Carnegie (Leander Club / Oxford)
Coach: Robin Williams

Men’s quadruple sculls (M4x)

Harry Leask (Leander Club / Edinburgh)
Angus Groom (Leander Club / Glasgow)
Thomas Barras (Leander Club / Staines)
Jack Beaumont (Leander Club / Maidenhead)
Coach: Paul Stannard

Men’s eight (M8+)

Josh Bugajski (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC / Stockport)
Jacob Dawson (Leander Club / Plymouth)
Thomas George (Leander Club / Cheltenham)
Mohamed Sbihi (Molesey BC / Surbiton)
Charles Elwes (Leander Club / Andover)
Oliver Wynne-Griffith (Leander Club / Guildford)
James Rudkin (Newcastle Univ. BC / Litchborough)
Thomas Ford (Leander Club / Holmes Chapel)
Henry Fieldman (cox) (Leander Club / London)
Coach: Steve Trapmore

Lightweight men’s double sculls (LM2x)

Jamie Copus (Oxford Brookes Univ BC / Oxford)
Samuel Mottram (Leander Club / Stoke Mandeville)
Coach: Hamish Burrell

Men’s spares

Matthew Tarrant (Oxford Brookes Univ BC / Shepperton)
Jonathan Walton (Leander Club / Leicester)
Oliver Wilkes (Oxford Brookes Univ BC / Matlock)
Women’s single scull (W1x)
Vicky Thornley (Leander Club / Wrexham)
Coach: Paul Reedy

Women’s pair (W2-)

Helen Glover (Marlow RC / Penzance)
Polly Swann (Univ. of Edinburgh & Leander Club / Edinburgh)
Coach: Hamish Burrell

Women’s double sculls (W2x)

Holly Nixon (Leander Club / Enniskillen)
Saskia Budgett (Tideway Scullers’ School / Acton)
Coach: Paul Reedy & Lauren Fisher

Women’s four (W4-)

Rowan McKellar (Leander Club / Glasgow)
Harriet Taylor (Sir William Perkins’s School BC / Sunningdale)
Karen Bennett (Leander Club / Edinburgh)
Rebecca Shorten (Imperial College BC / Belfast)

Coach: James Harris

Women’s quadruple sculls (W4x)
Mathilda Hodgkins-Byrne (Reading Univ. BC / Hereford)
Hannah Scott (Leander Club / Coleraine)
Charlotte Hodgkins-Byrne (University of London BC / Hereford)
Lucy Glover (Edinburgh Univ BC / Warrington)
Coach: Lauren Fisher

Women’s eight (W8-)

Sara Parfett (University of London BC / Rochester)
Rebecca Edwards (Leander Club / Aughnacloy)
Chloe Brew (Leander Club / Plymouth)
Emily Ford (Leander Club / Holmes Chapel)
Katherine Douglas (Leander Club / Edinburgh)
Caragh McMurtry (Southampton Coalporters ARC / Southampton)
Beccy Muzerie (Molesey BC / Fareham)
Fiona Gammond (Leander Club / Bicester)
Matilda Horn (cox) (Univ. of London BC/Windsor)
Coach: Tom Pattichis

Lightweight women’s single sculls (LW1x)

Madeleine Arlett (Edinburgh Univ. BC / Selkirk)
Coach: Darren Whiter

Lightweight women’s double sculls (LW2x)

Emily Craig (University of London BC / Mark Cross)
Imogen Grant (Cambridge Univ. Women’s BC / Cambridge)
Coach: Darren Whiter

Women’s spares

Samantha Courty (Leander Club / Alnwick)
Jess Leyden (Leander Club / Todmorden)
Annie Withers (Leander Club / Kingston)
PR1 men’s single scull (PR1 M1x)
Ben Pritchard (City of Swansea RC / Swansea)
Coach: Tom Dyson

PR2 mixed double sculls (PR2 Mix 2x)

Lauren Rowles (Worcester RC / Bromsgrove)
Laurence Whiteley (Tees RC / Northallerton)
Coach: Tom Dyson

PR3 mixed coxed four (PR3 Mix 4+)

Ellen Buttrick (Leeds RC / Leeds)
Giedre Rakauskaite (Worcester RC / Worcester)
James Fox (University of London BC/Tyrian BC / Peterborough)
Ollie Stanhope (Molesey BC / London)
Erin Kennedy (cox) (Leander Club / Wantage)
Coach: Nick Baker

European Rowing Championships 2021 Live Stream

Live coverage from Varese, Italy of the 2021 European Championships, in what promises to be a fascinating regatta after the disruption of 2020 and with the Olympics only three months away.

Racing begins on Friday 9 April at 9:00 CET with heats and progresses through repechages, semifinals and to the a-finals starting at 9:55 CET on Sunday 11 April. The finals will be live-streamed on BBC