IPL Throwback: Orange Cap Owned By Players In Each Season

IPL Throwback: Orange Cap Owned By Players In Each Season

Since the beginning of IPL from 2008, it has became the most exciting cricket tournament around the globe. It changed the scenario of cricketing world and brought revolution to Indian cricket. IPL became the platfrom for young guns to show their talent. IPL also provided the young talents an opportunity to earn fat some of money. On the other hand, the tournament also became the platform for batsmen to score huge runs in their bucket. We are going to talk about the batsman who claimed Orange Cap in each season of IPL. So let’s get started.

SHAUN MARSH (Kings XI Punjab, 2008)

Marsh was not a well known player when IPL began its journey back in 2008. But Marsh showed his class and consistency throuout the inaugural season of IPL. He became the one man army for KXIP and took his team to top four. This Aussie player scored insane amount of runs and secured the first Orange cap for his team. He scored 611 runs in 11 matches. He also secured one hundred and five fifties with a highest score of 115 with insane strike rate.

MATTHEW HAYDEN (Chennai Super Kings, 2009)

In the second season of IPL, another Australian player showed his tremendous ability and batting class to cricketing world. Hayden’s ability to tear apart opponents bowling attack helped his team to secure a a good place in point table. He took pinch hitting to another level and created fear to opponent bowlers. In the second edition of IPL, Hayden scored 572 runs with an average of 52 in 12 games. He secured five half centuries and won the Orange Cap in 2009.

SACHIN TENDULKAR (Mumbai Indians, 2010)

Sachin has won almost every possible thing in cricket. In 2010, Sachin played a crucial role to take his team to the final. Though his team lost to CSK in finals, his scoring ability is an unsullied example and also memorable one for cricket fans. Sachin scored 618 runs from 15 games with a record of 86 boundaries hit by him. The master blaster also secured five half centuries in the third edition of IPL. Sachin won IPL trophy in 2013 though he didn’t take part in the finals. Sachins performance in 2010 is one of the best performances claimed by critics.

CHRIS GAYLE (Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2011)

Chris is considered to be the best batsman to play T-20 cricket. He has secured many records in this format of cricket. Gayle’s tremendous ability to hit the ball out of the park always had been an entertainment for cricket lovers. When it’s Gayle’s day, he could hit any ball with any length out of the park. In 2011, Gayle scored 608 runs from 12 matches. He also scored two centuries and three half centuries in that season. Gayle’s performance helped his team to secure top position in point table though RCB didn’t win the title.

CHRIS GAYLE (Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2012)

Chris is the only player to win the orange cap back to back. In 2012, Gayle tore apart his previous season record and established a new one. Chris aggregated 733 runs on that season and till then it is the record of highest runs scored by any player in any season of IPL. With an average of 61.08, Gayle scored 7 fifties and one century. He also hit 59 sixes on that edition of IPL.

MICHAEL HUSSEY (Chennai Super Kings, 2013)

CSK is considered to be one of the best team of IPL. Chennai is the only team to play every play-off and under the brilliant captaincy of MS Dhoni CSK produced many cricketing stars over the year. CSK always preferred to play as a team and it is considered to be the essence to be one of the successful teams in IPL history. In 2013, Hussey stole the show by on his own. His class and consistency helped CSK to finish top of the chart before they lost in the finals against Mumbai. He scored 733 runs from 17 matches including 6 half centuries.

ROBIN UTHAPPA (Kolkata Knight Riders, 2014)

Robin Uthappa showed his talent and class back in 2014. He took the responsibility to score runs for KKR. Along with Captain Gautam Gambhir, Robin opened the batting for KKR which turn KKR’s luck and helped KKR to win the title after 2012. Robin scored 660 runs with an average of 44. He scored runs in almost every match and led KKR to win their second title.

DAVID WARNER (Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2015)

Warner is considered to be one of the greatest hitter of balls in modern cricket. Warner is best known for his hitting ability during the power play. He also loves to play against the spin attack, at least his records says it all. Warner led his team from the front and also registered the best run scorer of 2015 edition of IPL. He scored 562 runs in 14 games with seven fifties in that season.

VIRAT KOHLI (Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2016)

The world had witnessed the ability of Virat back in 2016. The run machine of modern day cricket showed his ability on 2016 edition of IPL. Virat is considered to be the most inaugurated, talented and class batsman of all time. His cover drive, wrist flick, timing and footwork always create fear to the opponent. He is the player who can turn the luck of the match at any point. 973 runs in just 16 matches tell it all. Kohli scored 4 massive centuries along with 7 fifties. His average was 81.08 and strike rate was over 150. Though his tremendous record was not enough to win the title in that year.

DAVID WARNER (Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2017)

Warner is one of the consistent player of IPL. After the successful venture of 2016, SRH was also started the 2017 season as favorites. Warner didn’t win the best batsman award in 2016 but he came back in very next season. He scored 641 runs from 14 matches with an average of 58.27. He took the best batsman award in this season but his heroics didn’t help SRH to win the title as they are sent home from play off stage.

KANE WILLIAMSON (Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2018)

2018 edition of IPL showed many contenders of Orange cap but among them Kane Williamson took this title home. The Hyderabad skipper showed classy display of batting and led the team from the front. He scored regular runs focusing on ones and twos to keep the run rate steady. Williamson finished the season with 735 runs in his bucket from 17 matches. He scored 8 half centuries with an average of 52.50. Williamsons heroics fell short again as they lost the final to Chennai Super Kings.

DAVID WARNER (Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2019)

Till now, Warner is the only player who won Orange Cap for 3 times. After serving one year ban Warner came back strongly in last years IPL. Warner is most consistant player in IPL. His ability to strike spin as well as fast bowlers took him to another level. 2019’s IPL was his third best scorer achievement. He form a deadly duo with Jonny Bairstow and became the nightmare for bowlers. However, Warner left IPL midway to resume his national career. Before leaving he left his marks. He scored 692 runs in 12 matches which includes 8 fifties and one century. Warner is proving each day that what he is capable off.