NEWMAC Announces Women's Basketball Postseason Awards 2021-22

NEWMAC Announces Women's Basketball Postseason Awards 2021-22

After an incredible season between the league's 11 programs, the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) has announced the 2021-22 Women's Basketball postseason major awards and All-Conference selections.

MIT's Christina Antonakakis collected Athlete of the Year honors, after leading the Engineers to a 7-3 record and a spot in the league tournament. A dominant shooter for MIT, the senior led the conference with 20.5 points per game and 32 made three-pointers, while finishing second with 66 made baskets from the field. Antonakakis racked up a league leading 205 points and added 2.7 assists per game in NEWMAC play. This is the second major award for the guard, after earning the Rookie of the Year award for the 2018-19 season, and second nod to the First Team.

Smith's Dashelle Gleissner was tabbed the Defensive Player of the Year, after helping the Pioneers secure the top seed in the NEWMAC Tournament. An impact player for Smith, the senior finished first in steals with 3.4 per game in conference play and tallied 25 rebounds and five blocks, while adding 5.2 assists per game. Gleissner was also selected to the First Team for the first time, after earning Second Team All-Conference honors in 2019-20.

Wheaton's Abby Fernandes earned the title of Rookie of the Year. In conference action, the first-year was a key part of the Lyons' line-up, recording a second-best 36.3 minutes per game and finishing in the top-10 with 12.5 points and 3.0 assists per game. The guard also totalled 52 rebounds and 14 steals.

Smith's Lynn Hersey garnered Coach of the Year accolades for the fourth time in her career. Hersey led the Pioneers to a perfect 9-0 conference record and the No. 1 seed in the NEWMAC Tournament.

The NEWMAC Women's Basketball All-Conference Team consists of a first and second team of six selections which are voted on by the 11 head women's basketball coaches. The 2021-22 honorees are listed below.

Women's Basketball Postseason Awards 2021-22

Christina Antonakakis: Athlete of the Year

Dashelle Gleissner: Defensive Player of the Year

Abby Fernandes, Wheaton: Rookie of the Year

Lynn Hersey, Smith: Coach of the Year