San Jose Earthquakes vs. Houston Dynamo | 2019 MLS Match Preview

2019 MLS Regular Season — Week 17
San Jose Earthquakes vs. Houston Dynamo
Avaya Stadium — San Jose
June 26 – 10:30 PM ET


The San Jose Earthquakes resume MLS play Wednesday night at Avaya Stadium looking to extend their unbeaten streak to five games when they take on a Houston Dynamo side hoping to bounce back from a Week 16 loss at the Portland Timbers.

With one loss in their last nine league games, the Quakes (5-6-4) enter Week 17 one point below the playoff line in the Western Conference. Recently, San Jose were bounced from the U.S. Open Cup following a 3-1 defeat at LAFC in the Round of 16. Vako gave the visitors an early lead, but Diego Rossi leveled in the 35th minute and Adama Diomande and Carlos Vela added goals in the second half.

The Dynamo (7-4-3) also fell in the USOC Round of 16 before a 4-0 defeat to the Portland Timbers at Providence Park last Saturday. Diego Valeri assisted on goals by Marvin Loria, Brian Fernandez and Jeremy Ebobisse, then added a goal of his own from the penalty spot.

In the clubs’ first regular-season meeting at BBVA Stadium, Tomas Martinez struck for the game-winner in the 60th minute to lead the Dynamo to a 2-1 win on April 13.

San Jose Earthquakes

Project Starting XI
  • Injury Report:
    • OUT: Danny Hoesen (F) – upper thigh injury
    • QUESTIONABLE: Shea Salinas (D) – upper thigh injury
  • Suspended: None
  • Suspended after next caution: Harold Cummings (D)
  • International duty: Nick Lima (D), Harold Cummings (D), Anibal Godoy (M)

Houston Dynamo

Project Starting XI
  • Injury Report:
    • OUT: Eric Bird (M) – hip injury
    • OUT: Memo Rodriguez (M) – left hamstring
  • Suspended: None
  • Suspended after next caution: None
  • International duty:  Darwin Cerén (M), Romell Quioto (M), Alberth Elis (M), Maynor Figueroa (D)

Series Matchup at Earthquakes

  • Earthquakes: 6 wins, 18 goals
  • Dynamo: 4 wins, 13 goals
  • 2 draws


  • Referee: Robert Sibiga
  • Assistant Referees: Jeremy Hanson, Chris Elliott
  • 4th Official: Luis Guardia
  • VAR: Allen Chapman

Source –