State of Origin Series 2021- NSW vs QLD Game 1,2,3 complete guide

State of Origin Series 2021- NSW vs QLD Game 1,2,3 complete guide

Game I of the 2021 State of Origin series is almost upon us. NSW coach Brad Fittler has opted for a host of the ladder-leading Panthers to steer his side to victory after the Maroons snatched an against-the-odds win in 2020.

irst-time Origin coach Paul Green has had plenty of injury and illness issues to work through with his Queensland side ahead of game one in Townsville.

Here's how the squads look.

New South Wales Blues team list - Game I

Impeccable form at club level has seen three Penrith players - Brian To'o, Jarome Luai and Liam Martin - rewarded with New South Wales debuts ahead of Game 1 of the 2021 State of Origin series.

Blues coach Brad Fittler announced his squad for the first game on Sunday, giving powerhouse winger To'o the nod over imcumbent Daniel Tupou.

The five-eighth position was among the most hotly contested, with Luai, Jack Wighton and Cody Walker all in the mix for the spot.

In the end, Fittler opted to stick with the Panthers' halves pairing of Nathan Cleary and Luai, with Wighton selected at number 14.

Unbeaten over the first 12 rounds, the Panthers have the most representatives in five after lock forward Isaah Yeo was given the nod in the no. 13 jersey, while Apisai Koroisai's inclusion in the 19-man squad brings it up to six.

  1. James Tedesco
  2. Brian To'o
  3. Latrell Mitchell
  4. Tom Trbojevic
  5. Josh Addo-Carr
  6. Jarome Luai
  7. Nathan Cleary
  8. Daniel Saifiti
  9. Damien Cook
  10. Jake Trbojevic
  11. Cam Murray
  12. Tariq Sims
  13. Isaah Yeo
  14. Jack Wighton
  15. Junior Paulo
  16. Payne Haas
  17. Liam Martin
  18. Apisai Koroisau
  19. Campbell Graham

Queensland Maroons team list - Game I

Maroons coach Paul Green has selected his first State of Origin team, including several players under injury and suspension clouds.

Newcastle fullback Kalyn Ponga hadn't played in three weeks at club level and Green backed him to overcome his groin issue in time for Game I on June 9.

However Queensland have since made the early call to rule Ponga out , opening the door for Valentine Holmes or AJ Brimson to take the number one jersey.

Superstar five-eighth Cameron Munster also hasn't been seen in three matches for the Storm as he battles a foot injury, but he looks set to take his place in the team.

His Storm teammate, hooker Harry Grant, has also been included in the squad and had won a place in the starting 13 even prior to Reed Mahoney's injury while on club duty.

Dragons veteran Ben Hunt has replaced Mahoney in the squad.

Cowboys winger Kyle Feldt is the only potential debutant and with club teammate Holmes a chance to play at fullback, he could line up on a wing opposite Xavier Coates.

Backrower Felise Kaufusi is free to take his place in the team after beating a charge at the judiciary.

Kurt Capewell's selection brings the number of Panthers players across the two teams up to six, after five members of the ladder leaders were included in Brad Fittler's NSW 17.

(In alphabetical order)

  • Jai Arrow
  • AJ Brimson
  • Kurt Capewell
  • Daly Cherry-Evans
  • Xavier Coates
  • Tino Fa’asuamaleaui
  • Kyle Feldt
  • David Fifita
  • Moeaki Fotuaika
  • Dane Gagai
  • Harry Grant
  • Coen Hess
  • Valentine Holmes
  • Ben Hunt
  • Felise Kaufusi
  • Cameron Munster
  • Joe Ofahengaue
  • Kalyn Ponga
  • Jaydn Su’A
  • Christian Welch

State of Origin 2021 dates and kick-off times

Clear your calendar for the three most anticipated games on the rugby league schedule as it doesn't get any bigger than NSW vs QLD. The three key State of Origin 2021 dates are 9 and 27 June and 14 July.

While COVID hasn't had the same affect on Origin this year, an outbreak in Victoria has caused Game One to be moved from Melbourne to Townsville. It means that Queensland will have home ground advantage for games one and two.

GameDateVenueKick Off AESTKick Off ACSTKick Off AWSTKick Off NZSTWhere to Watch
State of Origin 1
Wednesday, 9 June
QLD Country Bank Stadium, Townsville
Channel 9, Kayo Sports (Replay), Foxtel (Replay)
State of Origin 2
Sunday, 27 June
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Channel 9, Kayo Sports (Replay), Foxtel (Replay)
State of Origin 3
Wednesday, 14 July
Stadium Australia, Sydney
Channel 9, Kayo Sports (Replay), Foxtel (Replay)

How to watch a State of Origin stream

You have a range of options for watching this year's series, both live and on-demand. Channel 9 will once again have live and exclusive coverage of all three games. Foxtel iQ and its related streaming services Foxtel Now and Kayo Sports will only have coverage of the match once it's complete.

While the Fox League channel has complete coverage of the game up until kick-off Channel 9 is the only broadcaster allowed to show the game live. If you can't get access to Channel 0 for whatever reason you can also access State of Origin through the 9Now app.

Live stream every NRL game on Kayo: 14-day free trial

Stream State of Origin outside of Australia

If you're outside Australia, New Zealand or the Pacific Islands there is only one way you can live stream the State of Origin series, or watch a replay on-demand. That is via Watch NRL, a feature rich, rugby league focused portal that has every regular season game, the final series, the State of Origin and Test matches all included in its subscription price.

Depending on how long (or often) you head overseas, there are three price points; weekly ($20), monthly ($39) and yearly ($199) passes.

Watch State of Origin outside of Australia

Subscribe now and start watching instantly. All 2021 NRL Premiership matches available live and on demand. Every pass includes access to every game of State of Origin, the finals series, including the grand final and Test matches. T&Cs apply.                                                            Get deal