These are some of the most important racers that have won the Dutch Grand Prix

Following a month of summer hiatus, Formula 1 is back with the Dutch Grand Prix scheduled for this upcoming weekend.

The opening two practice sessions are set to take place on Friday, August 25, at the challenging and intricate Zandvoort circuit.

F1 like you’ve never seen before: Verstappen’s Red Bull car goes rallying in Australia

Subsequently, the final practice session and the qualifying rounds will take place on Saturday, August 26, paving the way for the main event, the Grand Prix itself, scheduled for Sunday, August 27.

Has Max Verstappen won the Dutch Grand Prix?

Max Verstappen will take to the circuit in his native country in his bid to secure his 11th victory this season.

The Dutchman has celebrated victory on home soil two years in a row, in 2021 and 2022.

“It’s a great weekend for me to come to,” Verstappen said, in the middle of a season in which he’ll aim to become one of the greatest ever Formula 1 champions.

“It’s honestly great to see all the fans next to the track and it’s also an amazing track to drive, so all of those things together make it a fun weekend.

“It’s one of my favourite places to be and to win, of course, is always very special here so for sure that’s the target for the weekend.”

Who has the most wins at Zandvoort?

Yet, Verstappen is not the driver with the most wins in the Dutch Grand Prix, since its inaugural edition back in 1950.

That driver with the most Dutch Grand Prix wins is Jim Clark, who has won it four times. He secured three straight wins between 1963 and 1965 and also came out victorious from the race in 1967.

Two drivers follow suit, as Jackie Stewart and Niki Lauda have won three times apiece. The former celebrated wins in 1968, 1969 and 1973, while the latter won the race in 1974, 1977 and 1985.

As for the other multiple-time Formula 1 champions in the Netherlands, Alain Prost, James Hunt, Jack Brabham, Alberto Ascari and Louis Rosier all accompany Verstappen on two wins each.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *